Forum Conduct & Guidelines Document ×

How do you heal?

4everjoeysmom

• Members
4everjoeysmom

I'm so sorry for your loss. I have been grieving and healing for 3 years as well. I lost my son on July 31, 2006. I can say I am healing, because the reality is that I don;t have the sharpness of pain I once had. But I still hurt. I still cry. I am not in deep mourning anymore. But I mourn anew with each first that rolls around that leaves me reeling hard into missing my son. How can I, or you, or anyone "put IT behind them"? We're talking about a life, a love of our life, a precious one we held dear, a part of our very being. You'll never be able to put her behind. But that doesn't mean you won't heal. We heal with our memories, with time, and with the compassion and understanding, the love and encouragement of others who "get it", who understand and help us to know we are not alone or crazy, or not normal. We aren't the average run of the mill full and happy family anymore. But we still are people with feelings and real heartache.

I wish I could say anger no longer flares in me. But it does. Guilt too sometimes. I think it's just a normal part of grief. there will always be "what-if's", I think. But I also believe there will come a time when those thoughts and feelings won't consume us like they once did. That is evidence of healing. Just because we take some steps backwards at times does not mean we are not healing. I can imagine, though, how difficult it is to have no one to talk to and share your grief with. There are many of us here on the BI site that for one reason or another have been unable to grieve openly. It has helped us tremendously to have each other to share thoughts, feelings, ideas and so on, just to know we aren't insane--that there is HOPE for us too.