Forum Conduct & Guidelines Document ×

Anxious and feeling alone/scared

Hannah1

• Members

Hi everyone

I'm new to here but after reading all the great help and feedback you all provide each other with I thought it might help.

I lost my mum just over a year ago to stage 4 pancreatic cancer within 11 months of diagnosis. She was only 61. She was my best friend and I used to talk to her everyday about everything. We understood each other. The same week my mum got diagnosed my Nanna got diagnosed with terminal stomach cancer. She passed 3 months after mum did in 2014.

I was mums primary carer until the days she passed away.

I have been coping so well since both mum and nans passing by going back into my normal routine and staying as busy as I could.

I am a health professional and there was an issue at work that triggered my anxiety levels that have seemed to have arisen again and now I have been non stop crying and feeling so alone and scared and all I want to do is talk to my mum and Nanna as the last time my anxiety crept up they were both there and have always been my support system and the people I can talk openly to. I am finding it hard to talk about this to anyone as I feel not normal and silly. Is this all part of grief and its process? I've tried not to look too much into the 5 stages of grief as I feel that everyone copes differently.

Has anyone else experienced this?

• Members

I'm sorry I probably won't help much but I can relate to so many things you wrote about your mother. I lost my mother October 14 2014. I thought I was dealing with it, but now I feel on the verge of a nervous breakdown. I'm very anxious and afraid I'll snap.

• Members
silverkitties

Wow, it seems quite a few of us lost our moms in 2014. I lost mine on October 4, 2014.