Forum Conduct & Guidelines Document ×

Death of my 12 year old son

kenpope

• Members

My wife and I have 2 sets of twins, and this past February our son Hunter died from complications of the flu.  It was completely unexpected, and of course we're still reeling from it.  Hunter has a twin sister Molly, who is hurting terribly.

Our entire world has changed, and looks terribly bleak.  Everything that used to bring joy is stained with pain, and I fear for the entire family.  My wife and I are working hard to support the children, and each other.

The pain just seems so devestating - and it's been 6 months... does it abate?

post-33298-128153893597_thumb.jpg

• Members

I am sorry for your loss. My son, Rich ,died on 01/18/2009 due to a cardiac dysrhythmia. Rich was 20 years young. He went to sleep one night and left this earth for the stars. I am new to this journey as you are. I can say that with the help of all the people here on BI, my journey is understood, people listen and support each other. You son makes me smile :-) tell us more about him when you feel you can. we are here

Betsy

• Members

Ken,

Yes sometime down the road you will be able to function again. This Sept will be 5 years for me and I do still have bad days but not too often. When I start  to get down I try and think of all the fun times we had and try to remember what a gift I had to have my son in my life. This does help. You have a ways to go but please hang in there because it does get better.

Greg

Briansdad

• Members

Ken

Yes, it does get better, but only one thing seems to help - - time.

I lost my 16 year old son on 6-19-08 from car surfing (he was on the hood of a car and the driver was driving 68 mph and hit a tree).  Brian died at the scene.

The first year is the worst.  I have 2 other children, 15 and 19.  They are so angry, that they take it out on everyone around them.  It is finally getting better, but it took a year just to get them to talk nice to the world around them.