Forum Conduct & Guidelines Document ×

sadness, pain, and guilt over the loss of my beautiful baby brother

heartbrokensister

• Members
heartbrokensister

Hello,

I have never posted in an online forum before, but the depth of my sadness and guilt over the loss of my little brother are forcing me to do all kinds of things that I never would have before. To give a little bit of context, I am an American overseas teacher who is currently living and working in Brasil. I have friends here, but none who have directly experienced such a loss, and the loneliness and looping thoughts are driving me crazy. Also, although they have offered, I feel nervous about burdening my friends with the heaviness of my grief. It feels easier to be at home alone crying and burning candles. When I am at work I try to pretend that things are fine because I know that's what most people want to hear. It also helps me get through the day without becoming lost in my inner pain. 

Two months ago today my little brother was killed at the age of 22. I had just been home for the summer and had a great time reconnecting with him. I have been overseas almost 11 years and was looking forward to moving back home to Seattle next year to reconnect with him and with the rest of my family, to finally move back after being gone for so long. My brother was born when I was 14 years old, so our relationship especially in his childhood was more maternal than most. I spent a lot of time babysitting, something I resented at the time and am thankful for now as I have so many beautiful memories of his childhood.