Forum Conduct & Guidelines Document ×

Living with the pain

bsummerlot

• Members

So, it will be two years on November 9th.  I lost my best friend, my soul mate, my lover, my life.  Christopher was 42 years old on when he passed away.  He had sleep apnea and I constantly rode his ass about using his CPAP, his diet you name it.  It was all in vain.  He always said he was ok and that he would start using the machine and taking care of himself when our house was finished. What else could I do? He was a grown man and he was going to do what he wanted.  If someone would have told me that he would die at 42 I would have laughed.  This man had so many close calls, riding dirt bikes, framing houses you name it that I never thought he would die in his sleep.  I would have guessed a fiery car crash or something much more insane.  I am thankful that if he had to go, he didn't go in a painful way.  I am a nurse, I save lives everyday and I loose people everyday...this is has just been my life for many years.  Losing someone you love is hard, but not being able to save them is life altering.  I found Chris not breathing on the bed.  He was a big guy.  I tried to pull him off the bed onto the floor where doing CPR would be effective.  I couldn't get him off the bed.  I couldn't save him.  This is something that will haunt me for the rest of my life.  Of all the people I have saved, the most important one, the one I love more than life itself ...I failed.  EMS came and they tried to revive him.  7 rounds of epinephrine to the heart, nothing.  Then I heard one of them say they had a heartbeat, faint, but its there.  They rushed him off to the hospital.  I got there after the police left.  I waited in the ER for about 5 minutes, then they called me back.  The took me to the room...you know...the one they take you to when they tell you that your loved one died.  It was the most horrific thing I have ever had to experience.  I let out a blood curdling scream and dropped to my knees.