Forum Conduct & Guidelines Document ×

Loss of newborn grandson

ptlhal063

• Members

Hi,

I'm new to this section of grieving.com.

I recently lost my sweet little infant grandson. It has devastated our family.

Our sweet little guy came about 6 wks. early because he had begun to lose weight. The Dr. thought he'd do better on the outside. My daughter in law had 2 previous miscarriages, and this was the longest she carried a baby. We were aware that there was a heart defect, but we're told it was fixable. We were all very hopeful, although nervous.

Our sweet boy was born near the end of July. He was almost 4 lbs. Tiny and oh so beautiful! He wasn't breathing on his own so he was whisked to the NICU.

We were able to see him a bit later. Such a precious baby boy. As all babies are!

When we met with the baby's Drs. they were also hopeful. But as it turned out, his heart had more wrong than they could tell in the womb.

Our baby boy lived about 28 hours. His poor little heart just couldn't support life. :'( He would've had to gain over a pound to have any surgery. They figured at least a month. But his poor little heart just couldn't go on.

We are thankful that he isn't suffering. But our hearts are crushed. :'(

It's difficult to lose a sweet baby grandson, and it's difficult to see your own child hurt so deeply. You are powerless to help. My son and I are very close. We were all so happy for them...that things would work out this time.

But it wasn't to be.

My son is the kind of man who is thoughtful of his wife. He reminds me of my own father. I find myself thinking about how my son would've taken his son shopping telling him "come on, let's go get something for Mommy." Just breaks my heart. My poor daughter in law too....so completely crushed. Sad, angry, depressed.

I try to help however I can. The Dr. has suggested she talk with a professional. I'm glad for that because she wasn't open to it when we suggested it.