Forum Conduct & Guidelines Document ×

Lost my dad at the age of 17.

Kersten

• Members

On March 5th of this year my dad passed away suddenly to a massive heart attack at the age of 52. It was completely sudden and unexpected. He was working in another province and was seemingly fine when we talked to him just hours before. I remember the day so vividly when we got the call, and my mom threw the phone and I just knew something bad had happened.

It's such a difficult thing to put words to.. I graduated high school and he wasn't there to watch me. Fathers day without him. Easter without him. I feel as though none of my friends can help me and sometimes it makes me feel angry, because they don't understand and some of them haven't even tried to offer any help. And I feel so envious of my friends when they mention their dads, and I get angry when they say they're fighting with them. Well at least you still have them around. It's really made me more cautious and grateful for what I do have.. I just wish i could help my mom, they were together for 25 years and they had a perfect relationship. She's only 46 and has to live the rest of her life without her soul mate. I've recently been suffering from bad anxiety and depression and I feel like I don't know how to cope anymore, and I feel guilty when I wish I lived a normal life like other teenagers my age. 

It just isn't fair. People say things happen for a reason, but what could the reason be, to take away an amazing man who was the funniest, most supportive, most understanding person I have ever met. 

To top it off, I have to go back to work after taking a couple of months off to finish school and get my mental health in check, but I just want to be with my mom. I hope things get easier one day.. What I wouldn't do to just hug him one last time, my ultimate regret.

• Members

Hi Kersten: 

Your story is much like my brother-in-law's.  I would like to share it with you.  My own story is much different.