Forum Conduct & Guidelines Document ×

First Post Ever- Coping with my Dad Dying

wonderful2night

• Members
wonderful2night

My name is Ashley and I am very new to posting... In fact this is my first time ever posting in a forum of any kind.

I lost my Dad very unexpectedly on December 20, 2013. He had a massive heart attack. I found out as I was leaving ti chi on that Friday morning. It was devastating and really the most heart breaking and terrifying experience of my life.

The thing is no one ever knew he was sick. Looking back there were signs that he should have gone to a heart doctor, but no one recognized it. I feel so guilty about not recognizing that he was sick. I'm working on a second degree and hoping to get into medical school soon- I feel like I should have recognized the symptoms that indicated his heart needed to be checked. 

I am and have always been a real daddy's girl. I'm almost 30 but I'm still close with my dad (even though he's not technically here). I have always felt like my dad really understood me and accept me for who I am and never passed any judgment on me. My dad was not perfect, but I loved him any ways.