Forum Conduct & Guidelines Document ×

Endless tears never ceasing to fall

orunfast32

• Members

I lost my mom two years and three months ago. I was only 18 when she died two days before my 19th birthday. She was healthy (other than being an alcoholic) and had a heart attack that killed her almost instantly. THere was no warning. No good bye. 

And now I am getting married. She has not even met the man that I am marrying. I wish she could see all that has happened in the last few years. I am in my last year of college now. 

All this to say, sometimes the grief overwhelms me. The memory of the phone call from my dad, saying 'oh, God, Olivia I tried, Im so sorry" and the confusion as I tried to figure out what he was saying. My reaction as I fell to the floor, literally unable to do anything but gasp for air. Those memories still haunt me, and give me major panic attacks when it gets too real. 

I wouldnt wish this on anyone...and I pray for those who have experienced deep loss as this. 

Just wanted to get it out. Thanks for listening. 

• Members

Hello orunfast, congratulations on your upcoming wedding.

I'm so sorry about your mom and the trauma you still can't release.  I had a very tough time too, when I received a phone call like that about my sister.  There's actually a few people on the forum who have described the same fall to our knees.  I was in a busy law office and screamed a blood curdling scream and collapsed onto the floor.  I couldn't even talk to anyone to tell them what was wrong, I just handed someone my phone while I still screamed.

It took me a year and a half to stop having instant recall of that memory.  What changed at a year and a half was I heard some information that made me work very hard at my grief.  As part of my "forced healing", I forced myself to not hide from that memory but instead, when it came up, let myself feel it in its entirety, but consciously and holding myself through it, until it started to have less hold on me.