Forum Conduct & Guidelines Document ×

Lost my mom to drugs

Evenheroesfail

• Members
Evenheroesfail

My mom was only 45 years old when she overdosed on heroin and had her already weak heart stop.

I'm 21 years old. Something about having to bury my mother at this age seems wrong- like what did I ever do (or not do) to deserve such grief? The irony is almost too much to bear knowing that my mother died from an overdose and I'm currently in my last semester of college to become a state trooper-hopefully a narcotics unit. I still don't think it's real and she's been gone for about a month now. My mom never had an easy life- she resorted to illicit drugs to ease her pain.

She was born in 1969- the first of two children to be born to the Abreu family. By the time my mom was 5, her mother was already deceased from cancer. Her grandmother stepped up to the plate and took my mother in. By the time my mom was 12, she was apparently so out of hand that Memere could not handle it anymore. My mom was then adopted by my now grandparents. My moms father walked out in both kids when Claire passed away in 1974. My mom had experienced a pretty tough childhood to start her life with.

I was born in 1992. My mom and dad weren't married and I was their first and only child. By the time I was five, my parents were separated and dating new lovers. My dad and his wife had their first child in October and my mom and stepfather had theirs in November. Funny how I had no siblings and suddenly I acquired 4 between 2 half brothers and 2 step siblings. My mom was a great mother- I always had food, clothes, toys and everything I needed. Our home was clean and I was happy.