Forum Conduct & Guidelines Document ×

Loss of mum to suicide

Broken hearted

• Members
Broken hearted

Hi I lost my mum through suicide on 25-1-14 I'm am lost without her, I am so emotional and am not sure how to deal with my grief can anyone help? Thanx in advance

• Members
Broken hearted

Hi I'm new to this kind of thing and was just wondering if anyone had been through a similar thing to me my mum had mental health issues and had made a previous suicide attempt a year ago but we found her and got her help this time her attempt was successful I think I'm finding it hard as she stayed a two hours drive from me and had came up to stay on 22-01-14 as my birthday is 23-01-14 we spent over 24 hours together and she appeared great laughing joking and seemed 100% her happy self she left my house at 2 pm on 23-1-14 and travelled home, had dinner with my step dad then went away to a very secluded spot and took her own life I blame myself as If I had noticed something maybe things could have been different I miss her so much

• Members

Hello MH

I am so sorry for your loss.  I have worked in psychiatry for almost 3 decades and have seen many mental health illness'.  Depression is one of them I and know how difficult it is for people to get through.  I have also experienced suicide with a family member and it sure leaves us with many unanswered questions. 

We often ask ourselves why we didn't know how the person was feeling, and we wonder if we could have said or done something.  We are left with so many questions but the truth is we can never know why someone takes their life, and of course if we had known what was going on we would try to help.  Sadly we don't know therefore we can't help.  I know that depression can be brought on my a chemical imbalance.  Or a person can be going through some kind of difficult situation and not see a way out and have lost all hope.