Forum Conduct & Guidelines Document ×

Anniversary of Mom passing on Mother's Day

TBazzle

• Members

Hello,

This is my first time talking about my mother passing away. She was rear-ended by a negligent driver on may 5th, 2009. She was in a vegetative coma for 6 days before passing away on mother's day.

This is a tough year for me because this is the first year where the date of her passing away falls on Mother's Day again.

Today is my daughter's third birthday, so hopefully that will get my mind off things for the day.

On a bright note, I'll be graduating with a 4.0 in accounting on the 5th. I know my mom would be proud of me, and i hope that I'll have the strength to attend my own graduation.

Sometimes i think that if the man responsible for her death would have just apologized, I could have some closure.community service just doesn't seem like justice to me.

I'm not sure why I posted this or even registered here. Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Tina

• Members

Hi Tina

So sorry about your loss.  It is difficult enough to lose a parent, but under those tragic circumstances, the loss is harder to take.  Your mom is definitely proud of you Tina .... doing such good things in your life, raising a beautiful daughter and graduating with a great mark!  I don't believe that community service is the only consequence for the man who did this.  We all have to live with what we do in this life and he has to live with what he has done. 

I know this is easy to say and may be difficult to do sometimes but that man doesn't deserve your headspace.  Try to continue to keep your focus on what you've been doing ... raising your daughter and living a good life and making your mom proud.  Take care.

Cindy

• Members

Cindy,

Thank you for your kind words. I think just talking about it helps. I just feel uncomfortable talking about it with the people who are close to me. It's such a sensitive subject and it tends to make people uncomfortable, and i tend to cry!