Forum Conduct & Guidelines Document ×

Loss of my father at 19 suddenly, still unable to grieve

prattm15

• Members

I graduated college early (I also started early), and my dad moved me (his only child) to start my new life about 11 hours away from home. I'd been gone about 3 months when I got the phone call every person dreads: Your dad's in the hospital. He had a stroke. We're flying you home. Except the "we" in we're wasn't my dad's family, but rather my mom's sister. My dad had had a stroke on Tuesday, and had failed to tell either my mom or myself (my parents were not ever married, but together on and off for over 25 years and were living together at the time of his death). My mom found out early on Wednesday morning after calling hospitals when he didn't come home, and my aunt called me on Thursday when my mom just couldn't do it.

I got home late Thursday night, and my dad passed away from several massive hemmorhagic strokes and a heart attack (official cause of death was swelling on the brain, I believe). My dad's family did not allow me legal next of kin because I was not there at the time of the stroke, and did not allow me to speak at his funeral or be a part of the donation of his organs.

Because of his family's lack of empathy, my mom and I also lost the house and the business that he owned, and my mom now lives with family and I live where I work, alone. But home is forever gone, and I was only allowed my personal affects from the house, and whatever I could grab before his family came in and took everything that they believed was his, including canned goods and other food, as well as some of my mom's things (her good, old Pyrex was one thing that really bothered her).