Forum Conduct & Guidelines Document ×

Long term grief

trishinca

• Members

This is my first time here, except for visiting soon after my loss.  As I descriped,I lost Tom in January of 2007.  Much of the house looks like he is going to walk in the door anytime, except for removing his clothes, most of his stuff is still around.  I find I don't have the energy to go through it.  When I do, I feel so attached to many of his things, just because they were a part of him. 

Now I feel depressed and anxious.  It is difficult for others to really understand, except for a few friends and the professionals I see.  My family has a hard time with my reaction.  They try to be supportive, yet don't welcome conversations about Tom.

If anyone has any ideas about removing a lost spouse's memrobilia, please share.  I never want to forget Tom, at the same time I have a need to change my home.  To make it more mine, and less cluttered.  I don't have the energy or motivation to have a garage sale.  Family members, for the most part aren't interested in the stuff, yet I just don't want to give his special things away to strangers.

Trish

• Members