Forum Conduct & Guidelines Document ×

Losing my son - aged 28 days :(

sugarnacl2

• Members

This is my first time here.  I wanted to share my story and hopefully get in touch with some who have been through similar circumstances. 

My husband and I waited a long time to have children... until our careers were in place and we had enough money to support them.  I became pregnant in May 2013 and was so excited!  I had 5 ultrasounds and everything looked great.  I had the easiest pregnancy and due to some low grade chronic hypertension, I was induced at 39 weeks.  When my son was born via emergency C-section (he was exhibiting fetal distress) 16 hrs after I was induced (Feb 6) , he was lifted up so I could see him.  He was full of red spots all over his body.  They assured me that he was beautiful and took him back to clean him off. The nurses said that they hadn't seen anything like this is their 35 years.  What was supposed to be the happiest day of my life quickly turned into a nightmare of sorts. 

Later that same day, he was taken to the NICU of the local childrens hospital due to low platelet count.  Turns out he also had an enlarged spleen and liver and severe jaundice (direct - which is rare and ominous, and indirect).  He had anemia and a host of other issues that can happen with congenital infection... so they chased that... for 2 weeks always coming up with negative results of their PCRs and cultures.

Fast forward 2 weeks, our son, Jack, was diagnosed with Hemophagocytic Lymphohistiocytosis (HLH), a rare genetic disease that neither my husband or my family had ever experienced before as both of our families always had healthy children.  Within those 2 weeks, he swelled up (fluid retention and ascites) to nearly double his birth weight.