Forum Conduct & Guidelines Document ×

Lost my dad

gypsy.woman93

• Members
gypsy.woman93

So my dad was diagnosed in April 2013 with terminal metastatic stomach cancer, and was given 6 months. My parents divorced when I was young because my dad was an alcoholic, and he kind of flaked out alot when I was growing up.

After I graduated I moved out of town for school, and tried to keep in contact with phone calls and visiting him when I would go home. When he was first diagnosed it was really difficult, but I think I was in shock because I seemed to be able to continue on with my life for the most part (I know that sounds a bit cold). He passed away in October 2013.

My mom decided to assist him in his palliative, and eventual hospice care. He decided to forgo the hospital, as they made him uncomfortable, and decided to stay at home. The last time I saw him when I visited, I made two trips up to visit him. The first time he was alert and coherent; he was even able to get out of bed and sit in the living room with me. The second time, however, he could only moan and he couldn't open his eyes. That was the last time I saw him. I don't know if he knew if I was there, or even if he knew who I was, and it haunts me. I have an image in my head of my dad when I was a child, tall, stocky, proud, and strong. But every time I try and see that man, I end up seeing the frail skeletal person who couldn't even hold his arms up at the end.

It's been three months, and for the first little bit I was sad, and I did cry and I had some trouble sleeping, but I could talk about what had happened, and I seemed to be doing relatively ok.