Forum Conduct & Guidelines Document ×

Anticipation of loss

trendycheetah3

• Members
trendycheetah3

Hello all,

I'm new to this, and I'm not completely sure how it works. I only know that I needed an outlet for these overwhelming emotions. This all started in January of 2013 when my Mom was officially diagnosed with stage four cervical cancer with metastasis to the lungs and liver. In June of 2012 my Mom went into the Doctor's to get some tests done, as she knew something was wrong. After 2 and a half months of waiting, the results came back saying she had severely abnormal precancerous cells, and they booked her an appointment for January 2013. Over time, her symptoms and especially the pain she was experiencing when sitting, worsened. Despite multiple (read 4 or 5) trips to two different hospitals and insisting that something was wrong, she was told that 7 months (from June) was an acceptable wait for a gynecological appointment, and that even if it was cervical cancer, it wouldn't spread that fast. They were terribly terribly wrong.

Let me start by saying that my Mom is absolutely my best friend and I actively call her my soul mate. We always say that even if we had not been mother and daughter, we would have found each other and been friends, regardless of the age difference. She knows me in a way no other person can, as she is my mother and has been there since day 1, watching me grow and helping to guide me into the person I've become now. She was my maid of honour in my wedding this past April, a wedding that ended up being moved from October because her doctor knew she wouldn't have hair, nor did he know how she would feel and so suggested we move it up.