Forum Conduct & Guidelines Document ×

Just lost my Dad two days ago

SportsPhan8

• Members

Hi, my name is Kyle. I'm a 25 year old student from New Jersey. I live with my mom and my younger brother, who's 20. I found out through my Mom, through one of my paternal uncles (who was my father's apartment's landlord) that he had passed a couple nights ago. Details are still scarce but it sounds like it was a suicide via gunshot, but we're not 100%.

I don't know, it's tough losing anybody close to you (either or both parents, grandparents, sibling, family, friends, etc.) but I think especially when you're younger and when that person you lost wasn't in their 70s-80s and up. Since Friday night (around 7), when I heard the news, I've been a rollercoaster of emotions- there are a couple hours that go by where I don't cry, and I feel good, and others where I just lose it emotionally and cry a lot. And even though I'm still upset and in pain in some of those times, it's almost a down period of crying, where I'm ok emotionally but not psychologically.

I'm still in shock, I loved my Dad a lot, as did my brother, and vice versa, and even though he had a lot of problems over the years (bi-polar, anger, drinking, heroin addiction, depression, blaming other people for problems, etc.) he was still there for me if I wanted to talk, to watch a sports game together, beach trips, holidays, etc. or even just to hang out and laugh at the little things in life. I don't know how I can ever, or will ever, replace that or him, I know I can't.

It makes it tougher that I think it was a suicide, and also that, even though he's in heaven now and in peace, I didn't get to say goodbye. Nobody wants to lose anybody close to them in life, and it's hard, but at least if they had a long-lasting disease, you could at least prepare for it more so than this. This was so sudden and unexpected.