Forum Conduct & Guidelines Document ×

Daughter's traumatic death

Lainesmom

• Members

On September 8 my daughter fell down stairs at her home in the middle of the night and broke her neck. I hope she died instantly but may never know. She left her husband and two children, a daughter age 11 and a son age 6. She was gone at least 2 hours before her husband found her. Fortunately the kids didn't see, I understand her face was hideously swollen. She was 41 years old. I just need to talk with others whose adult child died. I hold it together during the day but cry every night. This is the hardest thing I have ever done. I want to help her husband and my grandkids but they live a state away. Help?

• Members

Sharon,

I am also a newbie on this site, have been reading for several months, not posting. I lost my daugther aged 21 almost a year ago, Oct 30th, 2012. She died in her sleep. Her loss is the most excrutiatingly painful event of my life.

I am so sorry for the loss of your daughter Laine. I understand the need to reach out to your son in law and grandchildren. Is there any way you could go there and spend a few weeks with them? Maybe stay at a hotel or at another relative if you think it will be overwhelming for your son in law to have you in the house. It is very hard to try and help someone else cope with pain and loss when you are yourself in such pain.

Her children are so young to have lost their mom. I am sure they will be so grateful to have your love and support.

Hugs to you dear mom. I wish you gentle moments.

• Members

Lainesmom,

Let me offer my strongest condolences to you. As I read about your daughter, I wished I could be there to hug and hold you.

You see...I, too, just recently loss my adult daughter. She went to be with God, August 27th. Like your daughter, she was 40 years old. She would have been 41, September 6th. Divorced from her dad, many, many years ago.