Forum Conduct & Guidelines Document ×

Little brother overdosed.... How? Why? When?

Chandra

• Members

My little brother overdosed from what appears to be heroin on May 2nd and was found by my mother on the 5th. My brother was a wonderful, hilarious young adult who passed at the age of 22. This was completely unexpected. My brother was sober for three years from a pill addiction and almost a year sober from alcohol. My brother was succeeding at life.... I don't know why now?

My brother came clean to me when he turned 18 years old that he was seeking treatment and was on suboxon. My brother would steal his own doctor bills and pay them so my parents did not know. He came to me right after I graduated college to help him pay for it when his insurance lapsed and he had to wait for his new insurance to picked him up. As a new grad I did what I could and then he finally came clean to my family. My mom was in denial she missed the signs. My brother told me he got himself into this it was his job to get him out. Shortly after he met a girl ( his future wife) who was ten years older then him. They met in rehab and leaned on each other for support and got married when he was 19. For 1.5 years i hardly saw my brother his wife controlled every aspect of his life. He was allowed to stop into family holidays for 30 min. Not allowed to engage with us because she was nuts. Every fight they had my brother would binge drink and would call me at odd hours of the night to come find him. I came everytime it didn't matter if I didn't see him for months or even got a hug or thankyou. I sat all night with him in the ER because I was scared and called the cops I thought he was going to stop breathing that night. When he was awake and his wife finally chose to get him he called me every name in the book because I called the cops..... Never said he was sorry...