Forum Conduct & Guidelines Document ×

I lost my Dad as a kid, but still dealing with the grief.

tinalynette

• Members
tinalynette

I am new to this support group and I have never been in a support group. My Dad died when I was a small child, and his funeral was actually on my birthday. So today is my birthday, but yet their has always been a negative feeling with my birthday. I have no memories of him, and since my Dad died my mom has been married 3 additional times. I am currently dealing with the loss of my Dad seeing it is the anniversary of his death. When I was growing up we NEVER talked about him and my Mom would always tell me that I was being stupid or dramatic for ever verbalizing how much I missed my Dad. She would tell me that you can not miss someone that you never knew. I do have older siblings, but I am estranged from them now. I am not close to my mother as she has her own issues (obviously for someone that has been married four times in her life and the divorces were NEVER her fault.) I have so many hurt feelings toward my family as I have always felt like the black sheep that I was never important enough. I am married and we do have a 2 year old, but I do not get the support that I need from my husband. He is constantly working and I am very alone with these thoughts and feelings. And input would be greatly appreciated. I have gone to see a counselor in the past but after a decent amount of visits I was told that I will just have to learn to live with the not knowing the truth about your past and "it is what it is." Obviously not very helpful.

• Members