Forum Conduct & Guidelines Document ×

Sudden loss of dad

kelly914

• Members

It was a normal Saturday on January 26th, my 4-year-old son and I went over to my parents house to hang out for the day while my husband was at work. My mom had just been diagnosed with neuroendocrine pancreatic cancer in August of 2012, which hit our family extremely hard. Anyways, I was in the kitchen in the process of making potato salad when I heard my dad walk in the front door from playing tennis. I saw him out of the corner of my eye walk down the hall, and he hadn't said anything to my son which was odd. A few seconds later I heard a loud thud and saw him lying face first on the ground. I screamed for my mom and brother to come in.

I was freaking out, I couldn't even think of what to do even though I'm a nursing student, it was my dad...I couldn't comprehend what was happening. I called 911 and started chest compressions, but his face was blue, no pulse. The EMTs came and couldn't revive him.

One thing that really ticked me off was when we went to the ER to say goodbye to him, we could hear laughing out in the hall. The staff had to know there was a deceased man in that room and his family was in there, I can't get over how insensitive and careless that was.

Since his death was sudden and he really has no medical history since he wouldn't go to the doctor, he is a coroner's case. So our family is stuck waiting 8-12 weeks for the cause of death. Of course we know he has a history of hypertension and high cholesterol, so I'm sure it was his heart that gave out. I had recently been taking blood pressures for my school and he wouldn't even let me take his. I begged him to go to the doctor after my mom was diagnosed....I deep down knew he was a ticking time bomb as his dad had died of heart problems in his 50s. My dad always said "Lets get your mom better first." But then he always made comments on how my mom got sent from doctor to doctor and he didn't want to end up in that trap.