Forum Conduct & Guidelines Document ×

Lost my 19 yr old son. Sept 18,2012

oreosmommy

• Members

Im new to chat rooms and forums so please bear with me. I lost my son Sept 18,2012 from sudden illness with no warning. We still dont know what the actual cause of death was and are waiting on autopsy results. If anyone reads this and is going through the same they can understand the absolute devistation it causes. His death has left me at a total loss. My world revolved around him. He was a type 1 insulin dependant diabetic and I had been his number 1 advocate and care giver. He developed the onset at age 5. I can barely write this through the tears. I dont have words to describe my love for him. Since his death Ive been left clinging at straws and am very afraid that Im not gonna make it through this. Ive lost loved ones before and have struggled, but this is beyond any pain that Ive ever encountered. Im running out of hope. I believe in God and Gods will and I know that he hears us but the comfort that he gives me right now only seems to scratch the surface.

• Members
catherine250959

I lost my 21 year old son 15 months ago. His death was accidental and therefore, like you, a complete shock.

All the feelings you are having are, from my experience, completely normal. A child's death is the worst possible thing that can happen to someone. I can't tell you its going to get better...because it really does not. However, you will come to a point where your days will be a bit easier.

Right now, you are in the worst place, grief, shock , disbelief, despair...all I can say is ride the waves and hang on...Have you been to your doctor? I am taking a sleep aid and have since William died...I found that having enough sleep gives me the strength to face each day...I also joined a bereavement group, specifically geared towards the loss of a child. You probably aren't ready for that right now...but keep it in mind as honestly, those women saved my life.