Forum Conduct & Guidelines Document ×

What to expect

Fadedsun

• Members

My father is 69 and not many ppl reach a very long life in my bloodline.Overall the type of relationship I have with my father is very strong to the point that hes my best friend (meaning I look to hear from him daily and I like hanging out with him).I have alot of pause and think sessions with myself and try to think about how I would handle it,I cant imagine in any way how I could.I just fear that it will be suddenly and i'll end up freaking out.I am not good with my emotions to the point that I shut down.I would be thankful for any advice

• Members

Fadedsun,

Everyone reacts differently to the news their loved one has passed on. It also depends on the situation and whether you were expecting it. Perhaps you could talk to your father about how scared you are about death, and he may be able to help you. It is certainly not easy to deal with, but when it is time, you will get through as best as you can.

In the meantime, enjoy your father's company as much as you can. Talk to him, and listen as he shares as many stories as he can about your family and his life.

Just be with him for now and create all the warm, awesome memories you can. Try not to worry. He's still here, and he may be around for decades to come.

ModKonnie

• Members

Hey Fadedsun,

I can definitely relate to how you're feeling. I lost my grandma in January to Amyloidosis. I had lived with her my entire life. She was basically my mom. When she had become ill, I was feeling the same way you are feeling now. I didn't know what to expect and I tried to prepare myself for her passing. Unfortunately, all that did was make me paranoid and when she had the littlest cold or wasn't feeling well, I'd always jump the gun and think that she was going to die. All of my grandmother's brothers/sisters have passed away a long time ago; none lived past 80.. she made it to 89 years old. God bless her soul.