Forum Conduct & Guidelines Document ×

Lost My Dad and Everything Followed

Mr27

• Members

This is my first time posting on a forum like this, so bear with me.

I lost my dad unexpectedly in March of this year due to a massive heart attack. It all happened at dinner for my mom's birthday of all days, and there was nothing we could do. Him and I were very close. He was my best friend, my mentor, my role model. And it seems like my whole life has started to fall apart since his death. I am 27 years old. 

Following his death, we had lots of support from friends, family, and the community. It was nice to have people around, but I was still feeling emotions that I've never felt before. A couple months go by, I was very depressed, angry, sad, I drank a lot. My girlfriend at the time was there for support, but eventually we'd argue a lot. I wanted to be a good boyfriend to her, but at the same time, I just wanted to be alone. She didn't understand this, and it was hard to explain my emotions to her. Eventually we broke up, which also took a toll on me. One month after our breakup, someone who I thought was a close friend, someone who I confided in and was also supporting my grief, tells me that he started dating my ex...I've known this guy since elementary school, and he knew how the loss of my father and loss of my girlfriend affected me. So this felt like a big betrayal. 

At this point, I felt alone. Driving around aimlessly became my therapy. I also began drinking more and more. About a month ago I was arrested for a DUI and sat in jail for 2 nights. I had hit a low point. Now I'm stuck with no father, no girlfriend, no best friend, and no license. The worst part is that it seems like no one understands the pain. And that is why I'm confiding in this forum.