Forum Conduct & Guidelines Document ×

Just needed to let it out…

Josh206425

• Members
Josh206425

I lost my son and nearly lost my wife 9 months ago. She was only 25 weeks pregnant and had many complications despite being a very healthy person. Our son did not survive. My wife recovered and we are just trying our best to process everything.

Personally, my grief comes in waves. I usually grieve on my own as I feel I need to be strong for my wife. I have been coping with the loss of my son by overworking and getting my mind off of that experience, but when the waves settle, I keep reliving it. It does not help that I am also a doctor and work in the same hospital that my son died at. I do my best not to bring it up to my wife because I know she is also struggling and I don’t want to make things worse for her. On top of all of this we are also faced with the reality that we can’t have kids of our own. 

I see friends and colleagues having kids and I hate myself for being jealous. Thinking they don’t deserve it and that my wife and I would have made much better parents. That’s not who I am.  

We were a religious family, but now despise god and hate him for what happened. I feel like life isn’t fair and my son should’ve been given the chance to live.  

I am not sure if this forum is able to give me any advice, but I needed to let things off my chest so that it’s not just all bundled up within me. 

I am sorry for all of you that lost someone you love. You’re not alone. Maybe things won’t get better, but we just learn to live with it. 

• Hugs 1

• Moderators

I am so sorry for your loss.   I had always been an avid prayer, even taught classes on prayer, had several pastors in it...but after my husband died, I felt nothing, no response.  It was like my prayers bounced off the wall of heaven!  It was somewhere around a year out that I realized God had carried me and the reason I hadn't heard Him was my own grief blocking everything.