Forum Conduct & Guidelines Document ×

Holding on by a Thread

kmwhiz

• Members

I'm not even sure where to start. Honestly, I'm really surprised I'm doing this. Can I just start from the beginning; when things really got out of control? Maybe a small, quick timeline for background and then the losses.

June 1- my mother tells our family she is moving out of our house

June 3- I graduated high school December - my father starts drinking again. He was a recovering alcoholic; sober since 2001

2008August - my mother moves to Arizona, leaving her children behind (I was 18, my sister was 15, my brother, 13)

March 24- I found I'm pregnant

July 19- my brother dies while vistiing my mom in Arizona. He had a heat stroke and he was only 14.

November 14- my daughter is born. Her name is Jamie after my brother, Kevin James.

2010May 15- my father goes missing. Probable suicide; no body found. Death certificate reads unknown as cause of death

I'm sure you're wondering why my parents' divorce is of important but this is when we lost our "family." My dad started drinking again because of my mom. He had been sober, as far as I know, since we moved to Alaska in 2001. I never told him but I was proud of him for that. Anyway, the divorce was messy but fine... It's when my mother decided to leave her children and move to Arizoan because she can't stand it anymore. I understand living in Alaska takes a special kind of person but what woman leaves her kids? As much as my toddler makes me want to pull my hair out, I can't imagine a day without her.