Forum Conduct & Guidelines Document ×

I'm new at this

sueblue

• Members

I lost my other half nearly 6 months ago and I just dont seem to be making any progress. He was alot older than me and always warned me it might happen that I would left on my own. I packed up work early to spend more time with him and four months later he was gone after a short illness. I am fairly practical and can manage most things but I hate the lonliness and feel as if I am just pretending to live. I have taken on some voluntary work but just feel I am swimming against a huge tide. I have no children or family nearby but do have some good friends .

We were extremely close and spent most of our 'downtime' together . We just liked the same things. He used to say 'As God made us, he matched us'. I feel I cant face the unending years ahead of me without him . I also thought that somehow we would still be able to talk to each other. I do have faith and believe there is 'something' after life but it is SO hard that I dont I seem to get any sign from him. I did go to counselling for a while as giving up work, losing him and adapting to living on my own proved overwhelming. It did help to talk to a total stranger at first but then I found I was just going over old stuff and upsetting myself even more. I do try and keep fit and go to a reflexologist on a regular basis. My other half has a twin sister and she is now very ill. I seem to spend my life thinking about illness and death and sadly , going to funerals. I seem to have become super sensitive and if anyone makes a passing remark I take it so personally and process it over and over in my mind.

Well, thats enough for now, I know it is going to take time and things will never be the same but can anyone out there give me any coping strategies ? I feel like getting under the duvet and hibernating permanently at the moment.

Thanks for any help/advice .

Sue

• Members

Sue,