Forum Conduct & Guidelines Document ×

Double Grief

Orion

• Members

Hello,

I am new to this forum. I wanted to post because my father died about 3 weeks ago. However, due to his debilitating disease, a form of Parkinsonism known as PSP/CBD, I have been greiving his "death" for about 4 years. By the last year, my father could not communicate, vocalize, eat without choking, or use his limbs. He'd been wheelchair bound for 4 years.

I am writing because, for the first time in my life, I can't understand the feelings I have. I am angry in a way that hurts from the inside of my body out to the air around me- if you can try to understand me. I am melancholy yet not on pins and needles like I was in his last 4 years. I am utterly exhausted all the time and hungry all the time. Yet, I wouldn't say depressed in the clinical sense. All I know is that I don't even care what you call it, I just don't want to do anything stupid like tell a loved one off, or miss too many days of work and lose my job, etc etc. I want to deal with this complex set of new feelings in a positive way, not in a way that ruins my life. It was already ruined when my father got his diagnosis and then was murdered by this awful disease. I want to move on...

What makes this even harder is that my father was the center of my entire world. He was all I had in the universe, and now I have absolutely nothing. I am starting totally from scratch at 38.

I would sppreciate anyone's thoughts during this tough time.

Orion

• Members

Orion, I lost my mom 2 months ago. She was 87 and she had parkinsons for years. She got that Deep Brain stimulator put in and it made her worse anyway long story short. She died at 87. She was in a wheelchair for about a year. She got very thin and i had to feed her in bed, etc. so i know exactly what your talking about.