Forum Conduct & Guidelines Document ×

Mattie May

Janus J

• Members

My little cocker spaniel, Mattie May, age16 1/2 years, died on Dec. 26th. Although I had tried to prepare myself for the inevitable, I am really broken up and having a difficult time. It was just her and me all these years and we were completely devoted to each other. Being an artist, I work from a home studio so I had her with me and she had me with her all the time. She was an art dog, watching me and participating in whatever event in which I was involved. I made all the decisions in my life based on her. Oh, she had such a great sense of humor and was so funny, a very social dog, unspoiled and almost human acting. It is very hard being alone and many people do not really understand what it means to lose what I term my best friend and love of my life.

She had great quality of life most of the time. However, in July her throat became paralyzed and she was unable to breathe. I grabbed her and sped wildly to the vet. He eventually performed a tracheotomy and she very well. We had the initial difficulties one can expect but Mattie adjusted as did I, although I do believe the event aged her.

She was active and involved in life until Dec. 24th in the evening when she began to have difficulty walking. On Xmas day, our vet, who happens to be a good friend, came over and checked her out. I had a terrible feeling even though he suggested one last treatment. We tried that treatment, and by morning I knew it was time to say goodbye so as she did not suffer. She was resting comfortably if she didn't have to move or walk, was very alert, engaging, and cognizant, even washing her paws. But the minute she moved it was terrible for her. So our vet came to the house and Mattie laid her head down on her paw. She was peaceful and seemed to know she was going to die. He administered the dose and she was gone. I have been experiencing tremendous grief.