Forum Conduct & Guidelines Document ×

I'm having a hard time dealing with my Mum's passing...

lizzyrascal

• Members

My mum was 54 when she was diagnosed with a grade IV glioblastoma multiforme. I was near the end of my last exams in my last year of studying for my a levels at college, and many thought i'd drop out, but i turned up every day and got the results for university. Im now in my second year at Lincoln studying sport and exercise science, but my Mum isn't here to see me. She passed away half way through my first year...10 months ago...At first I dealt incredibly well with it, you wouldnt have been able to tell what had happened. But when it got to the summer, that's when the grief kicked in, i was crying every day. When i got back to uni for my second year, I started seeing a counsellor who did an amazing job and got me back on track. I've just done my first christmas without her, and although my dad did an amazing job at trying to make it a good one, it obviously wasnt the same. I miss her so much, and I think about everything i did that made her feel worthless, all the times i could have told her i loved her, and i didnt. There's one memory that will stay with me forever: it was the day before she passed away, she couldnt move, she couldnt open her eyes, and i stood by her bed in my living room, held her hand and told her i loved her. I asked her to squeeze my hand if she could hear me (with very little faith that she could). But then she squeezed it, and that was the best moment of my life. I had the chance to tell her i loved her, and that she was the best mum in the world before she passed. I dont like saying she's 'dead' or that she 'died', because she's just passed into another world thats all, she hasnt left, and i hope that shes in a place where pain and unhappiness are unheard of. I like to think she's watching over me every day, because im trying so hard to make her proud. and i think about her all the time. I hope she realises how much i lov