Forum Conduct & Guidelines Document ×

so angry inside

aimbob

• Members

I'm new to this but I really need to vent. I lost my mum in may this year, yet it only feels like yesterday. She lost a long and difficult battle with manic depression. She passed away peacefully in her sleep because of a blood clot in her leg, which had developed as a result of reduced mobility over the years. Not meaning to sound horrible, but i'm glad that when she did eventually lose the battle, she went peacefully and not as a result of a suicide attempt. That would have destroyed me. My mum brought up me and my 3 autistic brothers (each of us were a year apart from one another). She'd been very depressed since she was a teen, which was then aggravated by her parents divorce and sexual abuse. She didn't have any support what so ever from anyone - not even her family. She went off to study nursing but couldn't handle the pressure of the workload as well as her mental health issues. She was regularly self-harming and taking over doses. She quit and started again a couple of times, but just couldn't handle it so she had to come home. She moved out of her dads house where she'd previously been living with his new wife and step children and moved into a flat on her own where I can imagine she'd have been very lonely. Her sister lived down the road with her husband and 2 children who she looked after regularly while her sister and brother in law were at work. She didn't have a good relationship with her mother (who used to treat them all very badly) or with her father and step mother. None of them understood her mental health so she was left to fend for herself and learnt to hide it incredibly well. The thought of her having nobody to turn to hurts me immensly. She met my dad and married at 27. She was happy at this point and went on to have me at 28 and my brother was born 13 months later. Apparently, she seemed a happier at this point and it was only after this things started going rapidly d