Forum Conduct & Guidelines Document ×

Walking through the park...and ever so slowly through the tulips...

Robert D.

• Moderators

I have been walking my dogs for 35 years, I love it, it helps to get out, take in nature, the exercise is a bonus, but it does something for me I can't explain.

• Like 2

• Members

If it weren't for my doggy friend Raleigh and her visits with me 2-4 times per week (4 during 2020-2021; 2-3 mostly now), I don't think I'd get out and walk nearly as much as I do.  My medical conditions can make it problematic, but when that 12 lb bundle of energy and love gives me "the look," I ask, "Do you you want to go on our walk?"  She dances around toward the door and stands in her spot waiting for the human, who takes forever in her mind, to get ready.  Then she quivers as I slip on her harness and leash, and off we go.  I let her lead and will only take control of our route if she tries to go somewhere dangerous (such as into the bay mud at a minus tide if we've walked all the way down to the water) or if I get too tired/in pain or if I see her flagging.