Forum Conduct & Guidelines Document ×

Missing my mommy

Babeehawk

• Members

Hi everyone, my name is Leannette and this is my first time on here. I lost my mom to stage four lung cancer a few months ago on June 12th. I lost her three weeks before having my first child which she was beyond excited for. We all found out she had stage four cancer a few days before Christmas and a month or so after I found out I was finally pregnant. We were all told she had about a year of life left. My husband and I only got to enjoy a little bit of our pregnancy because my mom deteriorated so quickly. They started her on chemo and radiation even though her form of cancer was incurable and was not treatable by any of the medications. They were trying anything and everything to help her. She handled everything perfectly too; no side effects except a little nausea. She was in so much pain she tried to commit suicide twice by overdosing. We called 911 though and she was given Narcan twice the first time and she thought my dad and I told them to give it to her and refused to talk to us til after she got out of the hospital. The second time she tried was the night she was told she only had 3-6 months left and that nothing was helping so they were stopping treatment. After seeing her suffer for so long, sometimes I wish I’d known she would be going through all of that at the end because I would’ve let her do what she wanted with her life instead of stopping her. Right after she was told 3 to 6 months hospice was brought in. The first night that Hospice was there she told him that she was having trouble sleeping because of the pain so they asked if she had ever tried a sleeping medication which she had and they asked me what milligram she was taking instead of looking at her charts. So they ended up giving her so much that she slept for the first three days. when she finally woke up she was never the same and never was able to talk again. The only words that she could say were I love you t