Forum Conduct & Guidelines Document ×

Heart Flutters

RichC

• Members

Dear RichC

First of all, I am not a doctor.

So, plus given that I don´t know you, I have to wildly guess.

My best answer is: yes and no. It is known that great stress, as in divorce, shock, or death of a loved one, people can experience what is commonly called "broken heart syndrome" - symptoms so strong they can, in the worst case present as a heart attack and lead people regularly to the ER, where doctors actually can measure stuff, that is changes in all kinds of parameters, even though no "real" heart attack occurred. See link on the bottom below, and read the whole article if you like. It also says that most, though not all people to whom that happens are female.Since you post under Rich, I´d assume you are male? In that case, you can still have it, even though the symptoms are not strictly described as flutters. You have to do more intense research here. Because what you describe could also be atrial fibrillation. And that can also be made worse by stress, indirectly through higher blood pressure etc. Find Mayo clinic link attached below.

Depending on preexisting conditions, your medical and family!!! history with heart conditions, I´d probably try my best, if I was you, and go see a kardiologist at least once. Do not know if you are American and maybe have to pay for it yourself. But given I used to know someone who just dropped dead at the ripe old age of 41, and so did my grandmother, I believe, I´d better be safe than sorry.