Forum Conduct & Guidelines Document ×

Dad, you don't have my back any more

V-teach

• Members

Hi all.

I am new to this. I guess I need to know that I am not alone in this and that it is not necessarily non-normal. I have always felt a little apart from my sister and brother - and even my mother, but we mostly got along. Dad was the glue that held us together. I really liked my Dad. We had fun together. I could play golf with him, hang out with a beer with him and he really liked my husband. Nope, I was not a little girly girl and liked working with wood and plants and stuff like that, but liked to dress up. I am an all around girl! Dad, while old fashioned, accepted that. He would joke with my husband about it all the time. My Dad treated my husband as more than a son-in-law. He was a friend. They truly enjoyed each others company. My sister - younger by 5 years - married 15 years ago. He husband is an antisocial type person. (trying to be nice here). She sort of works from home. My brother - older by 2 years - took to driving a truck about 5 - 7 years ago. In March he lost his job and said he would come home, live with the folks, stay on unemployment until around August and then go look for work again. He just happened to be home when Dad was diagnosed with a Glioblastoma. Dad was 80. The Dr.s said without chemo and rad he would only have about 6 months - with it he could even get better than 2 years. He got on the chemo and rad. I was working - did I mention that of my siblings I am the only one with an actual job? I could have quit the summer season of teaching, but Dad didn't want me to do that, so I continued working. We thought we would have more time. On 8/29/11 he died after a week in the hospital. Throughout this past summer, I would call to go over to my folks house to be told by my father and my sister and brother not to drive "all the way over there" (1 hour) as Dad was doing fine. I missed some major time because I acceded to Dad's wishes. I wish I