Forum Conduct & Guidelines Document ×

Should I stay home by myself on Thanksgiving?

ESM

• Members

I was just wondering if anyone had an opinion on this. So two weeks after my mom has passed I'm pretty much as bad as I've ever been and it seems to be getting worse. Thanksgiving is this Thursday. My stepfather is going to his son's for Thanksgiving. It's going to be a small gathering and I'll know everyone there including my step-brother and we pretty much get along reasonably well.

However I'm torn between what's worse. Being at a gathering with all of my step father's side of the family without my mom there is something that I've never done before and I'm afraid of what it might trigger in me. At the same time the notion of being home totally alone on Thanksgiving  frightens me since I've never had a Thanksgiving without my mom.

I honestly don't know what would be worse for me. Getting together with people on Thanksgiving without my mom or being home by myself on Thanksgiving without my mom. Just wondering if anyone else had a similar experience and how they handled it and maybe if they have some advice on this. Thanks a lot for taking the time to listen.

• Hugs 1

• Members
silverkitties

I would say go, it might cheer you up a bit unless the thought absolutely horrifies you.

If you were on bad terms, then I would advise against it. But since it seems like you are on fairly good terms with them,it might be worth a shot: you may feel less alone and helpless.

• Like 1

• Members
7 hours ago, silverkitties said:

I would say go, it might cheer you up a bit unless the thought absolutely horrifies you.

If you were on bad terms, then I would advise against it. But since it seems like you are on fairly good terms with them,it might be worth a shot: you may feel less alone and helpless.

Thanks for the advice. I will most likely give it a shot and go.

• Like 2

• Members
6 hours ago, silverkitties said:

Let me know how it goes! I hope it is s good one.