Forum Conduct & Guidelines Document ×

23 years old and both parents pass 3 weeks apart

crtnygrn

• Members

So, I've never written in a forum before so bear with me! To start here is some background: I'm 23, my brother Cole is 25 (with 6 kids and a wife) and I recently found out I had a long lost brother from my dad-- Josh is now 40. My brother Cole and I grew up in a loving-- yet flawed household in a small town in GA. Our parents were well into their 30's when they married and had my brother Cole. We lived in the same single-wide trailer for my entire up bringing and they lived there until the both passed away there. 

My parents: without boring you all with the details, my parents were alcoholics all throughout my childhood. But the worked just hard enough to give us at least some of the nice things we wanted. My mom suffered from bipolar, depression, severe anxiety and PTSD. My dad suffered from a plethora of health issues (mostly attributed to his drug and alcohol use) that ultimately lead him to be disabled around 50 years old. About 7 years ago, my father got sober and mom didn't. That created toxicity in the household when I was in high school-- and ultimately lead to many resentments towards them for not being better. My mom (a long term smoker) was diagnosed with stage 2 lung cancer in May of 2020. She progressed to stage 3 in less than a month because she refused to deal with the problem and coped in her own un healthy way. She eventually started treatment and my dad was there with her through everything-- even though my mom continually pushed him and her kids away. She passed away 1 week after finishing chemo. My dad was SHATTERED. I could see the pain and despair in his eyes when I went back to GA to help be there for him. The look in his eyes haunted me in the following days-- I knew what was to follow. Sure enough, 3 weeks later my dad was found dead in the same house my mom was.