Forum Conduct & Guidelines Document ×

Father died in an unusual way and it is hampering me moving on

CHazelW

• Members

Hello,

This is my first time posting here, and only second time on a grieving support group.

My father died in May last year, and the suddenness of it, the circumstances in which it happened and the aftermath are making it difficult for me to grieve and move on, and difficult to find support.

My brother suffers from epilepsy caused by a brain tumour.  Last year he decided to have an operation to remove the tumour, and hopefully lead a normal life.  It was his second operation, as for the first one, three years earlier, not all of the tumour could be removed due to its location, and so the epilepsy remained.  His surgeon persuaded him to have another try.

For the last operation my parents flew in to take care of him.  The operation is long and difficult, and the recovery is slow, and as my brother is single and living alone, he needed someone there to care for him.  My parents flew in for this second operation, my father arriving the day before, and was able to take him to the hospital and make sure he was ok.  My mother arrived the day after the operation.  My parents divorced in '99, and my father remarried, and had another child, my half sister.  

So that is the background.

When my father arrived the day before the operation (Monday) he joked with my brother that he thought he might have malaria.  He said it was most likely just a bug he had picked up that he couldn't shake.  A few weeks earlier he had spent a long weekend in a malarial region - but we didn't know, he hadn't taken any anti malarial tablets while he was there.

He took my brother to his operation the next day (Tuesday), and unfortunately, just like last time, they couldn't remove the last part of the tumour.  My father messaged the family with the news, and apart from seeming a bit tired he appeared normal.