Forum Conduct & Guidelines Document ×

Loss of Dad

denemir

• Members

Hi. I would like to ask if it's ever possible to get over your dad's death.. for me, it is going to be 2 years since my dad lost the battle with cancer. However, I don't see the sadness fading as time passes... How do I go on with life? I feel that I'm an empty shell trudging through the motions each day, and I'm losing focus in everything, including my studies. I'm fearful that I'm not fulfilling my responsibilities yet detached as I feel like I can't care less anymore... And I'm afraid of letting my mum down... But she wouldn't understand my feelings cause the way she misses my dad is different from mine..

• Members
dizzydancingway

I'm no expert, as I've just only lost my mom a couple a months ago, but I don't think you do get over the death of a parent. I lost my mom at the age of 27 and I think I will always feel like I was gipped years and years of having a mom. But when you realize you won't get over it and really accept that they're gone forever, it's a little bit easier. I just think missing my mom will be a part of me forever, just like she's a part of me forever. Some days I'm totally devastated, some days I feel lucky that she made me such a strong person. I don't think there is any timeline on when things get less difficult, but I do think the more you face the pain, the more the weight of it will ease.