Forum Conduct & Guidelines Document ×

My world stopped on October, 26th 2018

linda Benson

• Members

My husband of 44 years passed on October 26th, 2018.  We were not only married 44 years, we were together since I was 13 and he was barely 18.  We met at college, I graduated HS early. We grew up together. we went on dates to the skating rink, drive-in Theaters, swimming at the river, Together we window shopped at the mall and watched races at the quarter mile strip.  We always joked that we were Grease and Dirty Dancing :)  We Traveled the country together, we served and lived through Police actions, Wars, and a clod war together,  We survived the Traumas of war together, we lived  with and learned from  PTSD together.  We married, we had babies and raised them together. We disagreed with each other, we agreed to disagree with each other, we made up together, We pushed and pulled each other through life. We lived through moments with my husbands illness that he could not remember who I was or remember my name.  We worked through it and found better newer love each time.  On the bathroom floor as my husband blead out all over me, I took direction from 911 and preformed CPR until the paramedics could arrive.  We survived his heart attacks and comas. On October 25th we went to a regular cardiology appointment. We told the doctor our latest good news, The experimental medicine was working, Laylen's Platelets had went from 28 to 58 in 2 months.  On the way to the Dr. office we talked about being able to leave the house and maybe go out to dinner for the first time in two years.  At the dr office Laylens breathing worsened.  The Dr. became extremely concerned, Laylen made the first complaint in his long illness. He said to Leaha, sometimes I just want to cry like a baby, Leaha said you do that, right now right here, She and I held Laylen while her nurses prepared to take him to emergency down stairs. We arrived at ER in the middle of a major accident in the city.  Layl