Forum Conduct & Guidelines Document ×

Approaching one year...

floyd11554

• Members

I haven't been on here in a while but I thought this board was very helpful when I needed it those first few brutal months.  

The one year mark is approaching and I have thought that with more time things would become clearer or I don't want to say easier but it just seems to get more intense and magnified as time has passed.  The holidays certainly don't help that.   My mother passed in 11 and my father in 16 and now the love of my life at the beginning of 18 so this is now truly the first holiday season completely alone and watching everyone else all happy is very hard to come to grips with when each day feels so alone and empty.  Not to mention I work in retail management so I am surrounded by the stench of the holiday season every day for eight hours.  

The holidays were always a very special time for us mainly cause of New Years that would involve us spending four nights with our favorite band inside Madison Square Garden every year.  This only amplifies things even further.  We were there last new years and went into 2018 with such hope and promise.  That this was going to be our year.  The one where everything finally clicked for us financially and we started to really reach our goals after eight years of trying to make ends meet.  Then five days later she was gone and I still can't understand why and what to do next.  

I also haven't heard from her parents in quite a while.  I messaged her mom on thanksgiving and didn't even get a reply back.  I understand their grief too but it felt very cold.   I guess I am just rambling at this point but this board was good for that last time so I figured why not again.   Just lonely and any interaction is a good one right now.   

• Moderators

@floyd11554,