Forum Conduct & Guidelines Document ×

The past week has been a roller coaster

BetsyD

• Members

So, as some of you know, I lost my beloved partner and soulmate of 40 years on April 26. He went from diagnosis to death in under two months with no prior history of any issues with his liver, no hepatitis, no drinking, nothing - BOOM to Stage 4 primary liver cancer with no hope for treatment. Hospice came on April 19 and he was gone a week later. He was blessed to have met his (our) first grandson and spend 5 days with him (little guy is now 4 months old). 

Everyone tells me how great I am doing - I guess because I am keeping promises I made to him like selling his truck and rehoming his horse. And since I am an independent contractor I am able to do some of my writing work, albeit at strange hours when I can focus. 

But like everyone else, I take one step forward and five steps back. The fact that I live somewhere I don't want to be, and that my children and grandson are in Arizona, are giving me the impetus to do things like getting projects done so I can get the hell out of here and be closer to them, too. (another promise I made to Tom, that I would move closer to the kids).