Forum Conduct & Guidelines Document ×

Snowball

ebt

• Members

Two days ago I took my 9 year old Pom to the vet. She had just been at the vet the week prior due to her not eating her dog food or treats. Over the weekend she got worse and stopped eating anything on Monday. I took her on Tuesday to ged blood work done. I’m a part time college student and live at home. Before telling me the results the vet called my mom to come over to be with me. Snowball was in Kidney failue. We could have taken her to a vet hospital and had her kidneys flushed but there was no guarantee that it would work and if it did work, it would only slow it down for an unknown period of time. I couldn’t let her be in anymore pain than she already had. I decided it was best that she cross the rainbow bridge. My mom and I were with her until the very end. We are getting her ashes in a few weeks but I’m so heartbroken. I have depression and anxiety, since her passing I’ve had major anxiety attacks. Today has been ok and I haven’t had one so far. I also lost my 15 year old cat of 12 years alittle over 2 years ago, as well as my last remaining grandfather not even a month later after my cat. We adopted a kitten 2 weeks after my cats passing. A beautiful white and brown tabby, we also have another cat that is 10 years old, he has some feral in him so he’s not as affectionate. We also have 2 older bigger dogs that are not in good health. One is 13 years and the other is 12 years, I wouldn’t be surprised if they passed this year as well. Because of my anxiety worsening I’ve had to take the full dosage of my prescribed medications. I feel horrible for already thinking about another dog but I can’t stand it. I know no dog will replace my Snowball, just like my kitten didn’t replace my cat. My boyfriend says it’s too soon and it will look bad but I’m so anxious without her here. My 2 bigger dogs are not allowed in the back of the house ( especially right now, our beagle/sheltie mix killed a baby skunk