Forum Conduct & Guidelines Document ×

My Angel was a Widow, My place in Heaven & Domestic Partnership

Sunshinerays

• Members
Sunshinerays

When I met Max, he had lost his wife of approximately 33 years from a long protracted illness with cancer. His wife's death was just 3 months previous to our meeting and our start of a loving relationship.  He had shared  with me that he was relieved because she had suffered for so long. Needless to say he was lonely (as was I), and he told me he wanted to start a new chapter in his life.   Max had raised 4 Daughters that were not his biological daughters. They had three different fathers. He loved them and was a father to them in every sense of the word.  We had only been together a year-and-a-half, and didn't even really think about either of us dying suddenly. As a hospice nurse, I was used to the process of death and Max, for the most part was a very strong and able-bodied person.  When he died, his daughters proceeded to remove me from his home. As a domestic partner, I had no real rights only tenant law rights. It left me very very little time to regroup and find a place. They were not kind to me, I would say I was almost a persona non grata at the funeral service.  The daughters could not see my grief for theirs in the loss of their mom. My question is, they say "now their Dad is back with their Mom".  So, where is my place? If there is a God and a heavenly eternity where will I be? I don't suppose anyone can truly answer this to my satisfaction, because first of all I would have to believe in God to get there.  Max loved his wife dearly. But, I also know he loved and adored me. I would be interested in any words of comfort though. And any insight, especially if anyone has personally experienced this themselves. I will say, it is so unfortunate that Domestic Partnerships are not recognized in most States. No matter how long one has been with their loved one, a family can come in and take everything if you didn't have th