Forum Conduct & Guidelines Document ×

6 months Mark, Lost Husband

Glolilly

• Members

Hello all, I'm new here. Can't find local support. School teacher husband died in front of me at home. 2 college sons and I did cpr but he was pronounced dead on arrival. I'm a school nurse who had guilt for months along with shock. The fog is just now lifting as reality is seeping slowly in. My heart aches for my sons 22 and 24 who have one more year of school and have never been on their own. Also I see the 4 bedroom and 3 bath home as too large. His black truck in the garage is hard to walk by as I hold unto it for just in case. I waited in church, a virgin, for the right man and married at age 34. Tomorrow is our 26th anniversary. He died at age 57 of arteries hardening (cardiac arrest) and his father did the same at the exact same age, 57.  I'm like, why me. With all the vitamins I brought him, it seemed genetics won. I was the good girl out of the family but look what good got me. I hate pity from other people but it's hard to stop the, "I'm so sorry for your loss". At first I was in denial and used to secretly think, what are they talking about, everything is good. I wished God had let me in on this death day before I married. I know that sounds awful. I can't imagine striking gold twice at my current age, looks and shape. I just turned 60 the end of April. It took 6 months of piles of paperwork,full time working distractions, low energy and restless nights, to finally arrive here--- 6 months. It's real. It's real. It happened. He's truly gone. Not coming back. The gravestone you ordered, is for him.

• Moderators
9 hours ago, Glolilly said:

I was the good girl out of the family but look what good got me