Forum Conduct & Guidelines Document ×

I Miss My Wife's Smell!

olemisfit

• Members

I know that this title sounds really weird, but it is part of my  situation. My wife passed on new year's day of last year. I'm just beginning my 2nd year without her. I cought myself doing something a couple of days ago in Walmart that made me feel like a lecherous old coot. Thank goodness the lady that i did this to didn't notice me doing it. I would likely still be sitting in jail if she had. I didn't do it on purpose. It just happened. She had on a nice smelling cologne that was really similar to what my wife used to use. I cought myself sticking my nose up into the air like a dog would do, just to enjoy that aroma. My year 2 isn't starting out like it's gonna be any easier on me than last year was. I miss the physicality of my wife being here. Just her physical presence. Hearing her voice. Saying something funny and then enjoying her spontaneous belly laugh. She had such an enjoyable laugh. I don't know how may times in our 41 years that i would say something funny just so i could hear her laughter. Nothing made me feel better than to see her happy. Being able to reach over and hold her hand while we were watching tv. Or her grabbing mine. We always enjoyed each other's company and companionship so awfully much. And now knowing that i will never EVER have any of those pleasures again is devastating me. I don't spend any time angry any more. Not much anyhow. I don't feel anger toward God anymore, but there were times last year that I really gave Him a few good tongue lashings. My faith was really tested for awhile. Now I just spend more time than i would like feeling sad. Melancholy comes to my mind as an appropriate word that seems to apply. I don't see anything in my future to ease that any. We both outlived our families. We never had children. And her sickliness after we relocated here to south Texas didn't make it possible to cultivate acquaintances into friendships. And I