Forum Conduct & Guidelines Document ×

• Members

Trigger warning: self harm, suicide

I don't really know how to start this, so I'm just going to try and write what comes to my head and see how it goes. I apologize for the length of this post, but I need to get this out. I have been encouraged to write about what happened, and this is my first attempt.

I lost my dad when I was 4, in May of 2006. He had struggled with alcoholism for years. I didn't know about his troubles with alcohol for a long time. When I was 17, my mom sat me down and told me the truth about his alcoholism and death. 

My dad was a talented musician, and guitar player. According to everyone who knew him, he was charismatic and loving. He was funny, smart, and had so much life ahead of him. A good person, and an even better friend. These are the stories that I try to remember when thinking about him.

The last 5 years of his life were really hard for him. I have heard stories of him falling asleep at the wheel of his car at intersections, getting fired for showing up to his job drunk, etc. I want to mention that this was a job he had worked so hard to get, and was very proud of. 

My mom divorced my dad around 2004. She didn't want to raise her children with an alcoholic father. She said that she could no longer rely on him as a parent. He would forget to pick me and my siblings up from daycare, leaving us there for hours until my mom would come and get us. He was living in a house that my mom owned, because he could not hold a job.