Forum Conduct & Guidelines Document ×

How old were you when you first went to a funeral?

meaty

• Members
ImMomma

9 or 10.  My nephew was killed in a car accident.  He was 4.   It was closed casket.  The next one I was 15. My dad died.  He was cremated and we just had a memorial service in the VA chapel at the big VA hospital in Allen Park MI.  That was my second home - I grew up in that place.  The following year my grandmother died.  She had an open casket. The mortuary embalmed her & put makeup on her face, but I did her hair.  I used to give her & my mom haircuts &  home perms.  Gram preferred Toni & mom liked Lilt.  Anyone remember those?

In between those we went to the funerals of two neighbors and a teacher.   

I just started studying to become a funeral director and mortician when life happened and I went in a different direction.  But I grew up around death. 

The first time I saw a dead person (actually watched him die) I was 3.  Maybe 3 1/2. 

The last time was July 2023 when we came home and found our roommates body.   I gave the eulogy at his funeral, whuch I also arranged.  

Death, with all its anguish, desperation, ceremony, and grief, is just another part of life. 

The cruelest part sometimes & the most destructive to the living who are caught in aftermath of the blast & pierced by the emotional shrapnel.  But one we each must navigate in our own way.  That usually begins with some sort of focused  funeral or memorial, a wake or maybe just a small gathering, or even a private time to acknowledge the person and embrace their memory.

• Sad 1

• Moderators

14, my older sisters had a horrid accident that made Donna quadriplegic for life and they butchered her voice chords when they did the ER tracgeotomy. My other sister got lifelong balance issues, both were in comas, Donna for 4 1/2 months, Peggy two weeks.

It killed Donna's 3 year old, my nephew, Jimmy.  Everything in my family's life was before and after this time.

• Moderators