Forum Conduct & Guidelines Document ×

How to regain memory gaps after dad passed away?

dandelions

• Members
dandelions

My dad passed away in 2017 when I was 17.

I don't really share about how I feel but I honestly still think about him almost every day; about how it was such a sad thing that he died before I knew how to be a more thoughtful, mature human being that I am right now, that he probably only could see the ignorant teenager side of me.. so I disappoint him a lot. 

Lately, I was watching a k-drama about mental health and there was an episode about memory loss caused by traumatic events. I was wondering how it is possible, until I realized that I also couldn't remember a lot of things about my dad before he passed away. We lived in the same house for 17 years yet I could only remember less than 10 very short moments that we shared. I also don't really remember what happened to me and my family before I was 17. My dad passed away right before I graduated high school and it's almost like I don't remember SO much thing about life before I graduated high school and moved out of town. Is this normal? or is it because I'm just forgetful? I remember feeling like this since a few years ago, so this is not something so recent.

Please tell me if anyone knows what happened to me, and how to deal with this.. because I really want to remember my dad. I feel like a terrible person because I can't remember him after all that we've been through and it makes me even more sad that no matter how I tried, I just couldn't remember.

• Hugs 1

• Members

Hey, I'm sorry to hear that.

I lost my dad when I was 10 years old, and it's now been 12 years since then. I can totally understand your feelings, I think. I've lost most of the memories because I was traumatized by that too. Since then, I would give everything to just talk one last time to my dad or even just hear his voice.